Zaheer Razack on Talking to Allah on an iPhone

01Jul09

In The Name of Allah, The Merciful, The Compassionate

This just made my day!

Source: SunniPath Blog

SunniPath is the vanguard of combining religion and technology. A funny thing happened a few days ago. I was reading a dua at a remote mosque. I didn’t have it memorized so I was reading along with a recording on my iphone. A five to six year old Palestinian girl came up to me and pointed at the iphone and said, “Aysh hadha (what’s that)?” I responded, a telephone. Thinking I was reading Quran, she continued her inquiry, “You’re reading Quran on a telephone?” Laughingly, I tried my best to explain, “No, no. It’s also an electronic device as well that can play Quran and I read along.” With a look of amazement on her face she blurted, “Are you talking to Allah on a telephone?” I thought about it and I guess I was, since I was making dua and using an iphone. It was a bit of a reach but I didn’t want to disappoint her. “Yup.” Her eyes got bigger. “Can I try?” I shrugged my shoulders and put the headphones on her. “Ya Allah, bidee diraja (O Allah, I want a bicycle).”

One Response to “Zaheer Razack on Talking to Allah on an iPhone”

  1. subhanallah the innocence of children always amazes me. may Allah bless her.


Leave a Reply

