Repost # 5: ‘Imam Abu Hanifa and Hadith’ Series: Part 2

18Jan08

In The Name of Allah, The Merciful, The Compassionate

‘Reposts’ are posts of yester- day/week/year which shall be posted again, Insha’llah once a week and can be found in the ‘Reposts’ category. Original Post Date: June 20, 2007.

The following is the 2nd of a series of topics that have been covered regarding al-Imam al-A’zam Abu Hanifa in the book Fiqh al-Imam, Key Proofs in Hanafi Fiqh by Shaykh Abdur-Rahman ibn Yusuf, under the general heading of Imam A’zam Abu Hanifa and Hadith, and will be posted here [on Ekhlas] in a piecemeal fashion. 

Imam Abu Hanifa Narrated From the Companions

Imam ‘Abd al-Qadir al-Misri states:

The Companions from who, Abu Hanifa related [hadiths] were ‘Abdullah ibn Unays, ‘Abdullah ibn Jaz’a al-Zabidi, Anas ibn Malik, Jabir ibn ‘Abdillah, Ma’qil ibn Yasar, Wathila ibn al-Aqsa’, and ‘Aisha bint ‘l-Ajrad رضى الله عنهما (al-Fawa’id al-ba hiyya 42).

‘Abdullah ibn Ja’far al-Razi relates that Abu Yusuf said:

I heard Abu Hanifa say to us, “I performed Haj with my father in 93 A.H. when I was sixteen years old. There was a teacher [shaykh] present with many people around him, and I asked my father who it was. He informed me that it was a Companion of the Messenger of Allah صلى الله عليه وسلم known as ‘Abdullah ibn al-Harith ibn Jaz’a. ‘What does he possess [that makes the people gather around him]?’ I enquired from my father. He replied, ‘Hadiths he has heard from the Messenger صلى الله عليه وسلم.’ Hence, I requested my father to take me closer so I could listen [to him]. He led me through the masses until I was close enough to listen. I heard him report that the Messenger صلى الله عليه وسلم said, ‘Whoever acquires an understanding of the religion of Allah, Allah suffices him in his matters of concern and provides him with sustenance from sources which he could not expect.’”

The great Maliki schlar Abu ‘Umar Ibn ‘Abd al-Barr, has also related the same incident (al-Jawahir al-mudi’a). ‘Allama Khwarizmi states:

Among the merits and virtues that are not shared by anyone after him was that Abu Hanifa narrated directly from the Companions of the Messenger صلى الله عليه وسلم. Scholars are agreed upon this fact, although there is some dispute concerning the exact number of Companions. (Jami’ al-masanid 1:22)

The above statements make it clear that not only did Imam Abu Hanifa see some Companions, he also narrated from them.

One Response to “Repost # 5: ‘Imam Abu Hanifa and Hadith’ Series: Part 2”

  1. 1 Zhilaal

    salam

    You are rendering a great service. I can’t tell you how much this is needed in our times when the hanfiyyah are being attacked from all sides.

    http://www.shadeofrahmah.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

