Sunnipath: Disabilities and Autism

25Sep07

In The Name of Allah, The Merciful, The Compassionate

Masha’llah as Shaykh Faraz points out on his blog, this truly is an outstanding Islamic answer to a problem that I feel doesn’t get the appropriate attention at times. Ustadha Zaynab Ansari of Sunnipath does a terrific job, Masha’llah:

Question: Please forgive me for asking you the same question, I am quite desperate for an answer and this is why I am asking you once again. Please will you kindly find time to answer my question – jazak Allah khairun; I would very much like to know the opinion of the shaykhs about what the Quran and the Sunnah say about disabled or special-needs children. My knowledge about Islam is average and I have learnt a great deal from your site, as this is a personal area for me and as my family (particularly my mother) is very upset that both my children are autistic. Although I have explained that they are indeed a test from Allah I need more than this to console her, I have also said that this is probably Allah’s way of telling us that their condition could have been worse but Alhamdolillah it isn’t and we have to abide by Allah’s decisions. Please will you kindly explain to me why Allah has chosen every one to be different (in my mind I know why) but I need the words of someone who is greater in knowledge.

Answer: As the mother of an autistic child, I can truly understand what you’re going through… [Full answer]

No Responses Yet to “Sunnipath: Disabilities and Autism”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

