I have come

10Sep06

The following is a general translation of one of Mufti Taqi Usmani’s poems. I was only able to render into English a few couplets. As you can see it’s basically in prose form [def: ordinary speech or writing, without metrical structure]:

At Your doorstep, O Lord
As a beggar I have come

Manifest poverty I am
Humility and shame my provision

Posessing neither lap nor cup
This beggar destroyed by covetousness, greed

Wraps of sin render the heart’s world bereaved
Intentions wavering, strength defeated, hope deceased

At Your doorstep, O Lord
As a beggar I have come

Manifest poverty I am
Humility and shame my provision

How does one learn to speak the heart’s tongue
That spans of life have played in pure disarray

Deeds worthy of Your doorstep, I am without
Of the manners of Your house, I have none

At Your doorstep, O Lord
As a beggar I have come

Manifest poverty I am
Humility and shame my provision

These eyes are dry O Lord, they weep not
Burning stains in this heart that douse not

At Your doorstep, O Lord
As a beggar I have come

Manifest poverty I am
Humility and shame my provision

3 Responses to “I have come”

  1. Beautiful, by one of the greatest scholar alive, will i be able to post that on our new section.

    http://www.qisas.com/wisdom

  2. It would be an honor for all of us here at Ekhlas. Just make sure you mention the following:

    1. the author [i.e. Mufti Taqi Usmani]
    2. the translator [i.e. Bilal Malik]
    3. a link to the blog [ekhlas.wordpress.com]

    Jazak Allahu Khairan.

  3. Just saw the format of ‘Drops of Wisdom’ looks wonderful Masha Allah. Will be adding it to my links section. Please feel free to post with just number one above [i.e. name of the author].


Leave a Reply

